Skip to content

Quiet Afternoons: story time

August 3, 2009

In the past I have mentioned how much my kids enjoy storynory, a free podcast of delightful children’s stories, both original and classic.  A conversation with a friend about our other favorite audio books got me thinking I should post some them, in case you too have children in need of a quiet afternoon, or have a long car trip ahead of you.  Like I do tomorrow.  We’re off camping for a few days before our various school years begin.

BarefootBookOfPirates_HCwCD_W_3BFBKnights_HCwCD_W_2Barefoot Books.  I can’t tell you how much I enjoy their books.  Unusual, thoughtful, and typically with great illustrations, we love many of their titles, but it is their audio books that really take center stage in our house.  My son especially enjoys their books.  Household favorites:  Knight Stories, Pirate Stories.

9780756612757HDK books.  Their listen series are great introductions to classic children stories.  They are condensed but not simplified versions of the “classics” which your children might not be ready to read on their own, or would turn their nose up to in favor of Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Harry Potter.  But my children will listen and listen and listen to these.  Household favorites: Peter Pan, Heidi, Oliver Twist (yes, even dickens!), Pinocchio and Black Beauty.

1124-010Jim Weiss.  I love that he is a working storyteller, and that these recordings can let my children in on hearing someone who has mastered the art of telling classic stories with intonation and some flair.  He has many, many recordings but some have been more popular in our house than others.  Household favorites: Sherlock Holmes (inspired my son’s Halloween costume last year), and Princess Stories.

41RouN6JcML._SL160_AA115_Ay Caramba!.  We discovered this unique little recording through our local library, but you can download it right online!  These are funny, personal stories told by a gifted story teller, Leeny Del Seamonds.  A couple family tales, and a few folk tales, all told in mostly English, but some Spanish thrown in through out.  This was a huge hit in our house about a year ago, that I think is due for a revival.

51nLNrl2DKL._SL500_AA280_Classic Stories for Boys and Girls.  This collection of original and classic, but tweaked, classic stories is hilarious.  Really.  I’ve heard these many times, and I still find them amusing.  My son was absolutely in L-O-V-E with this story collection for an entire year.  A little kid humor, great voices, and even a little cautionary moral thown in here and there.  What’s not to like?  Favorite Tracks: The three little pigs and The boy who hated pizza.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

