Skip to content

Pears.

September 2, 2009

pears

In the busy hubbub of back to school, I’ve been trying to carve out little moments for things I enjoy.  This week it was finding time to can some pears.  I’ve never done pears before, but man, they are the easiest!  Peeling took a while, but the rest of the process was a snap.  A little boiling sweetened liquid; 5 minutes in the pot; fill jars; process for 20 min.  From a large paper grocery bag of pears that we’ve been eating out of for a week, I was able to get almost (almost!) a case of pears with a dozen pears left for baking this week (I’m hoping to try some pear-ginger muffins from one of my favorite cookbooks, Once Upon a Tart, and the French Pear Tart from Dorie’s Baking cookbook).

I haven’t opened any of the jars yet, but what I tasted out of the pan as I was canning was really yummy.  Pear taste, with just a touch of sweetness from the syrup.  I am still trying to source some apples for my apple butter (I think in a couple weeks the next crops will be coming in and I’ve been promised some apples from a friend’s mom), and I didn’t do my blackberry jam (although I might still be able to get some berries this year, late as it is), but for now I have my pears.  Well, perhaps I should say, I’ve made my pears–probably my son will eat them all this winter.

Canned Pears

I took a quick peek in my Joy of Cooking, but mainly used Rachel’s Tiny Farm recipe for Vanilla Pears.  I just added some light spices, and for the second potful, extended the liquid with some apple juice based on Joy of Cooking’s recommendations.

Pears!  Lots of them.  I would guess I peeled about 15-20 pears  For the ratios in this recipe 8lbs is recommened by Rachel, I would guess that is about 10+ medium to large pears.
4 tbs vanilla
4.5 cups water
2/3 cup sugar

I added some cardamon, cinnamon, and cloves.  Just a few shakes to lightly spice.

Peel, core and quarter (or slice) the pears. Stir together the water, sugar and vanilla in a large pot and bring to a boil. Add the pears and boil them in the vanilla syrup for 5 minutes. Pack the jars with pears, using tongs and then pour the hot syrup over the pears leaving 1/2″ headspace. Process canned pears for 20-25 minutes depending on your jar size.  Joy of Cooking says 20 min. for pints, 25 for quarts.
Makes 5-6 pints.  I doubled to get my almost case.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 7:33 am

    pears make me think of home. I grew up in “The Pear Capitol of the World” and my first job was sorting pears. It was a long time before I could eat a pear happily. Now I love them.

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      September 10, 2009 12:03 pm

      I love how foods have such strong associations for us, and for place. It is blackberries for me and my childhood home, and coffee and mints I associate with one of grandma’s homes. Thanks for sharing with me!

Trackbacks

  1. This and That. « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

