Skip to content

This is what it looks like.

September 30, 2009

photo

Excuse my silence as of late.  This is my thesis writing semester, and my posts will be, at best, erratic.  I have to catch my writing waves when I can, but channel them all towards finishing this project.  However, I thought I’d share a glimpse of what my work space (aka the kitchen table) looks like.  I am not, as you can see, meticulous about my work space, but there is a system, of sorts, in that tangle.  And out of it will emerge, someday soon I hope, a completed project.

And just for fun, here is some book and writing related links.  These will have a limited appeal, I’m sure, but now you know what this literature major thinks is interesting.

Gendered Punctuation?:

http://www.salon.com/mwt/broadsheet/2008/08/21/girly_semicolon/

Interesting post on books in public:

http://subwaybookclub.wordpress.com/2009/09/19/book-as-accessory/

Interesting poetry/art using text to begin (thanks for fb’ing this Mari!) :  http://www.20×200.com/art/2009/09/how-it-works.html

John Clare (focus of my thesis) on grammar–this is how I knew he was my guy!:

http://books.google.com/books?id=v2LoYUyucHoC&pg=PA481&dq=john+clare+grammar&ei=Kc3DSq-iMInokASGh-SgAw#v=onepage&q=john%20clare%20grammar&f=false

A favorite academic article on academic writing: A Kind Word for Bullshit.  Now how is that for a scholarly title!:

http://writing2.richmond.edu/training/383/383restricted/bullshit.pdf

A great article on writing non-obtuse academic pieces:

http://chronicle.com/article/Prune-That-Prose/48273/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 3:10 pm

    Great links (but I’m a publisher, so I love all that stuff). I love the article “Prune that Prose.” I’m sharing it with my writing group.

    Good luck with the chaos, I mean thesis. 🙂

  2. Ana Blake permalink
    September 30, 2009 4:27 pm

    Ha ha! I love seeing your workplace. Good luck with the writing and I will enjoy your blog posts when they come. (Esp. since I know they will likely still be more frequent than mine! 😉

  3. September 30, 2009 5:09 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement!
    @ Terena: Glad you enjoyed that article. Hope your writing group enjoys it as well!
    @Ana: post soon! I love your posts, they are always great–I still think about that one on aging you posted…was it last year?

  4. September 30, 2009 7:21 pm

    I feel for you. Not that I understand writing a thesis, but seeing your notes, books, laptop, etc. on the table reminds me of my college days so long ago. I wish you the best and I will take your posts whenever they come. Good luck with it all.

Leave a Reply

