Skip to content

Silly Things.

November 23, 2009

Oh, of all the things I thought I would think about and problem solve as an adult, I don’t think single socks were one of them.  But, oh, they had become the bane of my existence.  Now, I’m sure not everyone has the problem to the extent we do, but I’m hoping that at least some of you will understand what I’m  talking about.  Each load of laundry we end up with many sock singles, just hanging around, waiting for its mate.  Sometime the mate never shows up (where did it go?), but often it just takes a few loads of laundry to surface.

I mean, already I have spent so much time just describing this problem, and it doesn’t really deserve it.  But now that I’ve got you reeled in, I’ll finish it up for you.   Soo…. have tried all sorts of methods to contain these rogue socks until they are claimed by their spouses, but they were cluttering up my laundry system.  I would try sorting them by family member in piles, but soon, someone would mix them up.  I tried a large bin for all of them.  I heard about safety pinning them together before washing, but honestly, as much as they bothered me, I really couldn’t imagine actually doing this.

So instead I’ve made each family member a sock bag.  It does nothing more than corral the singles during their waiting period, but at least they look prettier, and I’m not finding them scattered and forlorn looking.  I used up some fat quarters I had gotten for some other project I never made, and whipped up some quick drawstring bags (like these I’ve made to hold toys and such).  Then I stamped some cotton tape with our names and called it a day.  It was my first time stamping fabric, so it wasn’t perfect, but hey, these are sock bags, you know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    November 27, 2009 3:56 am

    I’m sorry but I’m having crazy visions right now as to where exactly in your house all those socks could be hiding. Love the new banner…

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      November 27, 2009 8:41 am

      now i’m having crazy visions of your crazy visions…if only it would lead to the discovery of some of these socks!

Leave a Reply

