Skip to content

New Knitter.

December 2, 2009

I’m trying it again.  I started a ribbed hat for my daughter last year with the help of my good friend Anna, but I had to leave her comfy home in Seattle and return home with it half finished and it…well…never got finished.  Still hoping to complete that hat, but I’ve moved on and I’m working on a new hat—this one for my new niece.  I choose the Baby Gnome hat in One-Skein Wonders to try this time.

I visited one of our local yarn stores, Cast Away, for help in getting the right weight yarn (and can I just say, they were so sweet and patient with me, had the most delicious yarn, and have just the cutest logo–what more could I want?), and my neighbor got me going with a little explanation on what Kfb meant, and so on.  I’m making progress, and so far it is looking good.

It is odd learning a new skill as an adult–I learned most of my sewing skills and crocheting know-how before I was 16.  Odd, but gratifying as well.  If only I can complete this project, then I will feel emboldened to try another, and another.  And then before I know it, I will be calling my self a knitter.

But perhaps I am getting ahead of myself now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    December 3, 2009 7:14 pm

    Ooooh oooh oh! Let’s plan on a knitting hour when we’re together!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      December 3, 2009 8:26 pm

      Yes! Yes! Making good progress on hat. I may even be on a new project when you guys are down!

  2. Alexandrea M permalink
    December 10, 2009 2:42 am

    Good luck! My mom was supposed to teach me to sew but we only got as far as cutting out the shirt and then she decided not to teach me.
    I have tried knitting several times. I have no idea why it is so hard (though I am left handed and my last instruction book I purchased had incorrect instructions for lefties)
    A couple years I managed to get past the first few rows and was on a roll but got distracted and left it and couldn’t pick it back up. This time I can’t get past the first row, luckily there are a few local classes at craft stores so I might grit my teeth and get in there and start accomplishing something!

Trackbacks

  1. knit-bits « jessBcuz
  2. Red, red scarf. « jessBcuz

Leave a Reply

