Skip to content

Sharing my Shirring

December 7, 2009

Well…Two years after I bought the elasticized thread, I finally tried my hand at a bit of shirring.  To be perfectly clear: Just A Bit.  And since any accomplishment is worth sharing, but certainly one that comes after two years of thinking about it, I just wanted to show off my shirring.

Now, I’m still working up to a shirred sun dress for my daughter, but I gave shirring a whirl on this tee.  I love this tee, but I have this thing about shirts that are too tight around the neck.  This is why you will never find me in a traditional turtleneck–Cowl?  Yes.  Turtle neck? Not as likely.  Left over sensitivity issues from my childhood days (best not to talk too much of these, they might flare up again).  This tee was not a turtleneck, but it did bother me about the neck, and I found I was always tugging at the neckline and thinking, “I should sew a little something to pull it down a bit.”  Well, I did.  Just a couple little lines here and there, and now I have a shirt I can really wear comfortably.

This success has me making lists of all the things I could shirr, but most likely it will take me another couple years to get to them.  So check back for more posts on shirring in 2011.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 1:40 am

    Elastic thread is addictive! I love the look of your t-shirt, what a fabulous idea! Well done!

    • jessbcuz permalink*
      December 10, 2009 12:36 am

      thanks! Now that I’ve tried it and see how completely easy it is, I’ve been eyeing my other shirts and random bits of fabric….

Leave a Reply

