Skip to content

Sconelettes

January 30, 2010

That’s right.  Sconelettes.  So tiny, you can barely see them.  Or notice them going down, so you are free to eat two, or five,…. or a dozen.

I found the recipe in that same issue of Readymade mag (unusually good issue, I guess) and whipped them up for my knitting hour this week.  Apparently the originator (and purveyor) of Sconelettes is a local gal and checking out her other flavors I was tempted to taste some more versions.   For now I had the recipe for Spiced Pear Sconelettes with Ginger Butter and thought I better start there, but lo and behold I was  missing at least some of the ingredients (does it really have to happen EVERY time I go to make something).  But I made do.

They were lovely with tea, and would have been even better with a little butter or cream on them.  Or maybe jam, although I’m not sure what kind.  Actually, I’m thinking apple butter.

Thank goodness the recipe makes like 60!  I can keep on trying them.  But I shouldn’t be that indulgent, so I’ve packaged up some to pass on to friends. Just a little sharing of some itty-bitty goodness.

There is just something about those neat rows...

Spiced Sconelettes (with just some wee changes)

21⁄2 c all-purpose flour

1⁄4 c granulated sugar

1⁄4 c packed brown sugar

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

1 tbsp ground ginger (I was out.  I substitued maybe 1/2 tsp of cardamon & some grated fresh ginger)

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1⁄2 tsp baking soda

1⁄2 tsp salt

1⁄2 c cold butter

1/4 cup crystallized ginger- chopped

2⁄3 c buttermilk (I substitued milk mixed with a little lemon juice)

milk or cream for wash

turbinado sugar or other coarse sugar for sprinkling

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. In a bowl, stir together flour, granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger (or spices of your choice), baking powder, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt.With pastry blender, cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in chopped ginger. Stir in buttermilk just until dough holds together.
  2. Transfer dough onto a lightly floured work surface and shape into a rectangle. Roll dough out to ½-inch thickness. Using a 1- to 1½-inch square cutter (I used a 1 1/2 inch round cutter), cut sconelettes (or use a sharp knife to cut the dough into 1¼- to 1½-inch squares), and transfer to a parchment-lined baking sheet allowing ½ inch between each sconelette. With a pastry brush, brush tops of each sconelette with whipping cream/milk. Sprinkle with coarse  sugar.
  3. Bake 20 to 28 minutes or until edges are golden brown. (mine were done in 20)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

