Skip to content

Keeping busy.

March 7, 2010

I haven’t been baking much this week.  I haven’t been sewing.  Or knitting.  But somehow I’ve been keeping busy.  Thought I’d share a couple things that have been occupying my time in the last week or so (with totally unrelated pictures).

(Finally) Picked up a copy of The San Francisco Panorama.  I heard about this the day it was released, but was never in the right place at the right time to grab a copy.  We were killing some time between basketball games (my 9 year old’s first tournament) in the oh-so-picturesque town of Pt. Reyes Station and wandered into the local bookstore.  A small stack of them by the cash register beckoned me closer and I decided this publication demanded a splurge from me.  I’m glad I did.  I can’t stop reading it!

Well…not entirely true (I mean I am typing this up instead of reading it), but almost.   I was able to hold off beginning to read it until I finished some gardening today, best of which was getting some new seeds in the ground I picked up a couple weeks ago in Petaluma at  Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.  We just had time for a quick stop at their fairly new location after a lunch visit with my mom and step-dad, but long enough to choose a few things for the veggie garden.  Truth be told, I could have spend hours in there, reading about all the seeds, dreaming up a massive garden.  But I only have a couple small boxes to plant, so its probably a good thing I only had a few moments.

We grabbed some snap peas, lettuce, peas, and Italian radiccio for planting next fall.  I’ve been meaning to get some seeds as my husband’s noni alway’s grew her own and it’s been a few years since we’ve had her traditional salad at our family gatherings (she moved into assisted living a few years ago).  I’ll need to put a note on my calendar to remind myself I bought these, as I’m sure to forget once its actually time to plant them.

I also watched an interesting documentary the other night, 49 up.  I’d never heard of these before, but it is the latest installment in a series of documentaries on the same group of people since they were 7 (original was titled 7up).  The filmmakers chose a cross-section of English society and revisit them every 7 years.  My husband thought it would be “prosaic,” and seemed uninterested, but in the end, he was just as glued to the screen as I was and we kept delaying turning it off to go to bed.  I guess “prosaic” can be a good thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

